Need tips/advice on a lighthouse scene

Okay so I’ve just finished some quick texturing on the lighthouse and now I wanna move onto the lighting aspects and fluid physics. I only have until friday to finish this (it’s for a small competition me and some other 3D guys have going on).

I was wondering if anyone could help me out on how I can make that halo light look less monotonous (and have more width at the starting end)? And what settings I might use to get some realistic water particles to crash over the island? I was also just gonna use particles to create all of the water in the scene and I was wondering if I could just render the scene once for the animation and composite it with the waves and the light?

Sorry for all the questions :stuck_out_tongue: Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

looks good. I suggest feather the edges of the light beam more, and add some dark rocks at the bottom.

This could be a great scene. Love the angle and love the scene.

(I’m not good with particles, but I’ll give you some other advice)

You need to change the composition a bit. Smacking the lighthouse right in the middle is not going to work for a landscape shot (It could but depending what you do with the scene, it could look boring composition wise). Well, yours is not really totally in the middle :wink: Move it to the right or left - usually the rule is 1/3. Let the beam shoot over a landscape. It will help the eye drift off into the seascape/landscape.This scene really wants some drama!

Also make sure you place some very dark brooding clouds or fantastic HDR type light streaming clouds (Google for HDR clouds, landscapes).