Needs Help Weight Paint this model! (.blend provided)

Hello, I have been modeling this character for a couple of days now, and I have completed it to my liking after remodeling it several times. This is my first completed model ever! :smiley: I used the skeleton I created from an older version of the model based on a tutorial on Blender’s site. Now, I’m not very good at weight painting myself and decided to use Automatic Bone Weights.

For some reason, The left and right leg have separate weight and the right leg’s weight is reaching the character’s shoulder. Could someone help me out in painting this properly? I was thinking it was the character’s geometry, but it was mirrored while modeling, so it can’t be that. Also, does the skeleton look properly made, because I am ready to animate this character for a game in Unity3D.

Here is the latest blend done in 2.49:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/723014/The%20Dog%20Knight.blend

Edit: I unparented the Armature and cleaned the weights.

First time here, so bare with me. And top of that, I am also on the learning curve.

The first and foremost thing you need to do, before you can Weight Paint is to parent your Mesh object to Armature object.
You can do this by selecting the mesh object first and then the armature in Object Mode and press Ctrl + P) but things have been made easy - Armature Modifier. You just need to do these following steps…
> Select your mesh
> Add Modifier as Armature
> Enter the name in the Ob: field (in your case, it’s Armature).

Additional Tip: Select a bone in Pose Mode > Shift + select your mesh object > Ctrl + Tab and viola! You are ready to weight paint your model now. You can select your specific bone and paint it across the mesh you want and at the same time you can Grab (G) or Rotate ® the bone to judge the weight.