New to Blender - Need to buy a new gpu, any suggestions?

Hi guys, I’m new to blender and have to been learning a lot the past couple of weeks. I currently have a 5600X, 2x8GB of Ram, and an RX550 4GB GPU.

It was working fine, just slow on rendering (mainly on cpu load) since the card barely helps apparently even with AMD ProRender. It has started to crash a lot, just the program and not as often the computer itself shuts down from the load.

I wanna be able to work faster, render and go back to making changes to be able to finish faster and improve what I’m doing.

I’m looking into buying an Nvidia 1650, or 3050/3060 if I can find one at a good price, or 6500XT/6600. Idk if any of them would be any good. I’m also looking into buying am extra set of 2x8GB Ram. Do you guys have any suggestions?

Moved to Support > Technical Support

1 Like

I can’t help with GPUs, as I don’t follow recent market, but I have an advice about RAM.

If you want to buy another 16GB and have 32GB total it would be better to buy new 32GB kit and sell those two 8GB sticks that you have.

Mixing sticks with different manufacturing date is not always good, as you might end with different timings, or even get sticks with different dies from different manufacturers (SKHynix instead of Samsung or Micron for example). And that applies even if you buy identical RAM model (to what you have) from the same vendor like GSkill, Corsair, Crucial, etc.

If you are buying complete new set you can be sure those 4 sticks were validated together and that they will work properly no matter what (as long as they were QVL’d for your motherboard).

2 Likes

Hi.

While deciding if you should give a kidney away in order to be able to buy a Nvidia RTX graphics card, you can try Google Colab and let it render your project while you continue using Blender:

3 Likes