Newbie Needs Human Figures

Hi,

I’m new to Blender, though I’ve had some minimal experience with other 3D programs, so I’m not completely in the dark (whew). I’m essentially a painter and a sculptor, and need to create simple human models for sculpture studies & proposals. I don’t need to animate or do anything highly advanced. Just need to model simple, nude male and female figures (no genitals necessary), and create some other simple shapes. Ideally, I could start with a basic human figure that’s already been created, and manipulate it into the shape and pose that I need. I’ve read that DAZ 3D figures can be imported into Blender, but it’s not a perfect process. Can anyone point me to a well-designed male and/or female figure that I can purchase or get for free that can be imported in Blender? I’ve looked all over without luck so far. Thanks very much!

So you need to Make a Human figure or two??

as it happens there is a project that has direct Blender Import with a fully rigged character called

MAKEHUMAN

you wouldn’t happen to know a bunch about human skin would you??

Robertltux, thanks for the info. I installed MakeHuman, then exported a basic model with rigging, then imported into Blender Worked great! Now I just need to learn how to pose the figure, i.e. move the limbs around, etc. (I will also learn how to modify all the shapes, but that will come later.) Can someone recommend a tutorial that will show me how to manipulate the skeleton/limbs and pose the character in different positions, etc? Thanks so much!

I pretty much figured out how to move the limbs! Go into “Pose” mode. Somehow, I didn’t see that before. Now I think I just need to learn how to add more detail to the figure. Exciting! (sorry, newbie, you know.) :slight_smile:

Great Tutorials: http://showmedo.com/videotutorials/blender

Post your work so other people who are looking for human figures in Blender can learn from it.