Newbie questions, Please help!

Hello everyone, I’m new to blender (had it for around 3 days) and I’m begining to have a few questions I can’t aswer in the tutorials…
So, here goes…

1. I have a good grasp of modeling. I understand how to make alot of the stuff in the tutorials. I just have a question about Bezier curves.
    When I model something and try to add a Bezier curve, occasionally it will only stay on the X/Z axis, not the Y axis (which I need it to go on…)
    Any way to fix this? Am I missing a simple keystroke??

Ok, number 2…

1. Whenever I model an object and then render it I usually see lines in whatever I modeled. I tried to make something with 100 rings but the quality of the render didn’t seem to improve… I have a good video card and a pretty new computer, what am I doing wrong??

2. Ok, this one is pretty specific. On the blender website, in the list of tutorials is one called “Toon Shading.” (http://download.blender.org/documentation/oldsite/oldsite.blender3d.org/80_Blender%20tutorial%20Toon%20Shading.html) I began to model the flower pot. I had everything figured out 'til I got to the petals for the flowers. I compresed a cylinder, altered it a bit and then rotated on a couple axis to get the petals, but they didn’t look half as good as the ones in the tutorial. Any method to getting something that looks like the petals in the tutorial?

3. Camera views. How can I get the standard camera to look straight, not down? I was playing around with it yesterday and managed to do something, problem is I forgot what I did… hehe %|

4. IPO. I was finishing up the candle tutorial on the blender website (http://download.blender.org/documentation/oldsite/oldsite.blender3d.org/93_Blender%20tutorial%20Candle.html). I had everything perfect (even the Bezier curve, woo hoo!) but I couldn’t change the IPO for the flame. So, the flame I have is less… flame-ish…
    Any tutorial or simple way to change the IPO of a material?

Ok, I think thats it for now…