Newbie: Radiosity

Hi folks, newbie here. :o

Trying to get to grips with Blender, so have started with an easy (I thought!) model of the Death Star trench run from Starwars.

I have created my simple trench, and added a “sun” light at the approprate angle. This is what I get:

Pretty much what I expected.

However, I obviously want the other walls of the trench to be lit by the light bouncing off the first wall. I am assuming (perhaps incorrectly) that I require radiosity to do this.

Following some tutorials, I enabled radiosity, subdivided the trench, set the emit and ambient properties of my material to 0.1 (I also flipped the normals after some head scratching), This is what I get:

This sort of looks ok other than being way too light, but after some fiddling to try and a darken it, I realised that by setting the “emit” to 0.1, the entire trench is emitting light. :frowning:

ie, if I turn radiosity off again I get:

This is not what I want, I want only the light reflected from the top half of the wall to light the trench, not the entire trench itself to be an emitter!

Am I going about this the wrong way? Should I be doing a raytrace or something instead? :confused:

Cheers,
Lister

Hi Lister

There are many ways to light something like that. You could for example duplicate a number of regular lamps set to a low energy value with a low distance value as well and place them in a row on top of the trench. (ray tracing for shadows enabled).

Or you could use the Ambient Occlusion feature set to Approximate and a falloff of maybe 2 (depending on the scale of your trench). the picture that i uploaded used the Ambient Occlusion feature. This calculates light/darkness values based on how close some pieces of geometry are to one another.

In both cases a sun light from one side gives the right space-feeling.