Non-photographic Render

I started a course in Blender over a year ago, and will probably have to start over at this point. But before doing so, I want to ask a question:

I am a book illustrator and hope to use Blender to model my mechanical subjects. Though I am wowed by the photo realism many of you are achieving, I wonder if I will be able to render my art in a lower, more graphic appearance. I have to match my past work in style. Here is a link to what I’m talking about (the cover art on the 2 books on my home page): http://nathanclement.com/

It seems like it would certainly be doable, but I don’t want to commit time to learning and find out otherwise. Thank you.

It is not obvious in middle of galleries using cycles to find NPR artwork.

But I found this one.

Freestyle is the part of renderer in charge of stylized lines.
And it was used until now, mainly with Blender Render engine.

In 2.8, it will still be available. But Blender Render will not be present.
So, shaders will have to be done using Cycles or EEVEE.

And another NPR renderer for lines called LANPR is in development.

But blender 2.80 (first stable release of 2.8x series) will not be officially released before next year.

Thanks. I’ll look at the EEVEE video. I am not looking for line; my work doesn’t have line in it, but NPR is where I need to be. Thanks.

These links might help:
https://blender.stackexchange.com/questions/33871/is-there-really-a-way-to-make-a-true-toon-shader-material-in-cycles

And when you are doing NPR stuff you can set the light bounces to 0, disable reflective and refractive caustics, and just use a few samples (16-64) to speed up the render.

You might also want to have a look at the ToonKit addon (commercial).

And BTW, it was a bit of a pain to get your homepage to show…
It relies solely on Flash, which makes it more or less unusable on many mobile devices. And even on desktop browsers most people have Flash disabled for security reasons…