noob, everything takes 5 minutes, complex model

Hi,

I’m extremely new to both Blender and 3D work of any sort. I am trying to create what should be a simple model so that I can 3D print it, but in reality it has turned into something pretty complex. It’s a cylinder with holes cut into it following a voronoi graph pattern. (yep, one of those) I made the original mesh in Meshlab but found it kept breaking the mesh (made it non-manifold) and I need to be able to do things like attach some other items and cut screw holes and so on. So I brought it into Blender and at first everything was great, but now the problem is that every single thing takes 5 minutes to complete. I mean, say I want to move an item. I click it and that works fine, but the moment I try to enter a new X-value, I must wait 5 minutes before I can then enter a Y-value, and so on.

Please. Help. OMG. Yes, the mesh is probably overly complicated. By “complicated,” I mean it has several million vertices (didn’t start that way - got that way after remeshing after the voronoi and smoothing). Does it need all those vertices? Beats me. I don’t really know what I’m doing. If I try reducing the vertices a bit by merging close ones, it gets chunky, so I’m guessing the vertices are actually accomplishing something rather than just having some side by side that don’t really need to be there, for example. I’m actually really happy with the look of it at the moment and have even printed it out successfully, but minus the attachment holes I’ve designed for it. I’ve been able to attach other things like a brim and a bottom but it’s seriously resisting letting me put some planned (as opposed to random) holes in it.