Noob project - Sign Post

Hi,

so yeah hmmm since I’m pretty new at this I figured Id start with something pretty basic. The metal textures need a lot of work but I have no idea how to make them better.

I’ll probably add some more stuff around the sign afterwards but, I’ll start by fixing whats there for now.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v58/DarkHunter/SignPost.jpg

Comments? Help? :slight_smile:

-Borg

looking good for now. Maybe you should correct the color of the grass and make it more dense. And don’t forget: some Ambient Occlusion would be nice.:slight_smile: Good job, though.

Ok, so heres what I did :

Amount : 50 000 -> 80 000
Fixed grass color
Added dirt texture (and tiled, although it didn’t affect the result much)
Enabled Ambient Occlusion

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v58/DarkHunter/Blend_Sign3.jpg

Looks like you could stand to make that shadow a little less black. Right now it is making all the grass behind it disappear. You might be able to bump up ambient occlusion and that might take care of it, Good luck!

Well to be honest, I’ve never turned on AO before so I have no idea what settings to change. Here are the ones I used so far (i think theyre the defaults)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v58/DarkHunter/AO_Settings.jpg

Oh and I also fixed the post’s height, for some reason I accidently dragged it down and it was half as high as it should have been so now the render looks better but I’ll wait till AO is fixed to post another render.

Wow that is pretty good for just a noob. (Lol, I am noob to and not even there yet).

Nice work! Keep it up.

Well you see as much as I,ve tried a bunch of things in blender, I never actually completed a project and theres plenty of things I have no idea how to use or that they exist so, I consider myself a noob.

Increase samples for a longer render time but clearer render.

Use Raymirror to create a shiny metal (it will reflect the surroundings) or try UV mapping a texture to it. Up to you.