Object disappears when entering Sculpt Mode

Hi, people!

I’m just starting out with blender. Never even used any other similar software, so I went ahead and began with Blender Guru’s tutorial for beginners, where he teaches how to make a donut with frosting and all.

So, I have my donut, I’ve added a subdivision modifier, then made the icing, then I applied the modifier to the donut only, so I could proceed with sculpting the middle crease that donuts have, and my objects simply disappear from the screen! In the tutorial, an orange model of the donut and icing show up, but in my viewport, the objects are invisible. The mesh is there, and my brush cursor snaps to the surface of the object, but I can’t see it.

Does anyone know if this is a setting I can change or how to fix it?

Thank you, in advance!

Here’s a link to the tutorial I’m following:

Right now I’m stuck on Part 5, Level 1.

Did you ever figure this out. I’m having the same issue. I don’t see things when in sculpt mode that i see in every other mode.

I found this and it helped. I hit “/” on the number pad.
" Maybe you are in local view? Use ‘/’ from the numpad, or the menu "
https://blender.stackexchange.com/questions/150305/blender-2-8-sculpt-mode-hides-all-objects-except-the-mesh-being-sculpted

1 Like

/ is one of the best hotkeys in Blender.

:slight_smile:

Unless you forget you’ve used it.

IMO there should be a conspicuous indicator that there both Hidden AND Isolated items in any scene. Much confusion would be avoided.

It’s a little low profile, but it will say “Local” next to User Orthographic or User Perspective.

I know, but as you say, it’s “low profile”. TOO low profile, especially in such a cluttered interface as Blender’s. --That’s why I bolded “conspicuous” – see how just a little difference jumps out?

If “Local” were in a different color (on my theme I’d use yellow) it would be a big help.