Objects not visible after DXF import

Hi Blender gurus.

Sorry for asking dumb questions, but I’m new to Blender and have been struggling with importing a DXF file with some land contour information in it from a survey. I can successfully import the file OK, but I can’t see any objects. I can see the objects in the outliner, and when I look at the object properties, most of the objects have a location of X=311 metres, Y=approximately 6 kilometres. I’m assuming these larger distances are why I can’t see them initially. Is this correct? I don’t seem to be able to zoom out enough to see them.

Can anyone tell me what to do so I can see the objects?

If it is not possible, can I move all of the objects closer at the same time so I can see them? I tried selecting all objects and transforming them Y = -6KM, but it didn’t seem to work.

I don’t know why the original file was set up that way. I converted it from a DWG with ODAFileConverter.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I am unable to upload the file I’m working with as I am a new user.

Many thanks.

Hey Aaron,

I’m assuming your in Blender 2.80 ( 2.79 doesn’t seem to Importing dxf’s).
If you’ve imported this geometry into a new Blender file the default max viewport clipping is 1km (1000m):

which if your meshes are beyond will not show. Simply increase this value to say 20km if your scene is 6km away. This also affects the Top/Front/Back etc views too.

Also check that the meshes are not in a collection that is set to non-visible ( see above).

Finally, it is possible for the geometry to be ‘empty’ with no associated data ( or it failed to import correctly), the best way to check this is to import another dxf and see if that works, so, here’s a 5km cube export as a dxf from Blender:

Cube_5km.dxf (3.2 KB)

which is a small download of a huge object :grinning:

and finally what it should import like when you set the clipping values appropriately:

Cheers,
Dj

1 Like

Hey Dj.