Ok, now shoot me (discussion on Blender 2.5)

What follows are personal viewpoints, so please don’t be offended.

I’m a mid time Blender user (form 2.28 on) and have used Blender as an invaluable tool to make 3d, illustration, websites, animations, product design and comics (above all).
What I have always loved in Blender was its unicity, its incredible speed in loading itself, as well as the interaction with Python scripts, and the ability to share work with Inkscape, Gimp, Sketchup and so on.

What Blender is becoming since 2.5 lets me really disappointed, for the following reasons:

• The new Blender interface makes Blender similar to other 3d apps. I liked Blender also because it was different. Different apps SHOULD have different approaches, so every one can choose the best for himself (i.e. 3DS lovers should use 3DS, and so on).

• The new UI needs a tutorial to be used (I’m not so new to the program, beneath I’m not a super expert…). Too bad: IMHO in 2009 we should provide users with something intuitive.

• Again on the new UI: it wants to be completely customizable, but if you set an horizontal panel layout you have empty spaces everywhere, and the single panels stay vertical (try the Render Properties Window as an example).
    This last point, I think, may be solved in future releases, so I’m not worried about this one.

What worries me is that the road started seems to lead to a loss of originality without giving back that much in terms of user experience.

Last: please, sincerely, I do thanks and really appreciate the work of every single Blender developer, the ones I agree with and the ones I don’t: they are making something fantastic, and I hope that they will go on.

Ok, now shoot me :wink:

I don’t see that much change actually. Sure a couple of things have been moved to slightly better - and sometimes slightly worse - places, but the workflow is almost unchanged.