ok what processor is better

ok what processor is better processor “# 2.16GHz Intel Core 2 Duo” or “# 3.40GHz Intel celeron D” im not sure so please tell me

Edit: The 2 core duo is probably dual core, so that means more overall speed.
I have a Pentium D 3.40ghz dual core. :smiley:

There is no answer to your question because they have different architectures and performance will be a result of the application.

But judging from your post, you probably don’t have the patience to research your specific needs, so just get the one that costs the most money.

ya ive done a little research im kinda new to the processors and stuff since im 13 and only been doing blender for about 8 months and once i started blender then i started to care about it

aint core2duo also a dual core? from what i heard, it’s core2duo that’s better… they say better than AMD athlon 64x2…

Get the C2D, it’s faster. I wouldn’t get the Celeron D even if they offered it for free :yes:

Edit:

Yes, Core 2 Duo is dual core. And it is better than any Pentium 4, Celeron D, Athlon 64 X2 or whatever is available today.
Here is a nice article comparing many CPUs:

Yea there’s a good chance that even one core of the Core 2 Duo at 2.16GHz is faster than the Celeron D at 3.4GHz, for multithreaded rendering it should be about twice as fast without exaggeration :slight_smile:
Celeron D is a Pentium 4 with crippled cache, slower FSB, and no HyperThreading, so pretty much the worst performance per MHz you can find out there, while the Core 2 Duo is just about the opposite (in the x86 world at least).

And just to prevent misconception: Celeron D is not a dual core CPU, in contrast to the Pentium D (and of course the Core 2 Duo)…

Any cpu with the name “Celeron” is crap. Intel sell those as cheap watered down versions of the real processors. Similar with AMD processors, anything with the name “Duron” you should stay away from.
Celeron and Duron processors are certainly not good for any 3d work.