Open world open source game engine?

Lately, I have been dabbling in some programming. It was inspired by my enjoyment of Minecraft (yes, sorry, I’m another one of those…:spin:), but also by my frustration at how the modding community seems to be pretty much reset every time a new version comes out, causing many mods to never be updated. So I started programming, and got a really weak personal Minecraft derivative working. The point was to make an open source engine that departed from the rigid structure of FPS-minded engines, i.e. “edit a level and add weapons and enemies and such”, and instead was more openworld-minded, i.e. “set up algorithms for open world terrain generation, allow for crafting, building, mining for goodies and slaying various enemies and such”. More flexible, more open, less controlled, and open for anyone to tamper with and add to.

Alas, I have come to suck more and more at programming as time goes by.

So it dawned on me: I cannot possibly be the first to get this idea (I’m not that smart)! There must be an engine already out there doing enough of the same that I can simply join their work and add to it!

So my question is this: Do any of you know of an open source game engine out there, that allows for in-game terrain alteration (i.e. digging holes in the dirt, cutting down trees, etc.), crafting, building (like building a house the character can walk in) and other such features? Preferably one that does not use the Minecraft “block” style, since I feel that is a unique Minecraft-feel and should be respected as such.

Edit: I’d love to do it in the Blender Game Engine, but the terrain alteration alone seems to break its possibilities, not to mention the idea of true open worlds (i.e. generated on the fly). Although, come to think of it, scripting something of the sort into it might be an option, if no C++ engine exists… hmmm…

Sauerbratten’s engine (a.k.a. Cube2 )