Organic lace mesh modelling

I’m brand new to Blender, although by no means new to 3D modelling – have been at it, on and off, for almost 25 years. I’m getting into Blender because I’ve run into a organic modelling challenge which my primary software (architecture & civil engineering) isn’t suitable for, and I suspect Blender will be able to do the trick.

I need to model the lacey mesh enclosure structure from the Phallus Duplicatus mushroom. (Unfortunately since this is my first post, I can’t upload an image, but if you do an image search for “Phallus Duplicatus”, you’ll quickly get the idea. This turns out to be a much less dodgy image search than one might suspect…). The model needs to be a watertight geometry suitable for 3D printing. (The mesh will probably need to be a bit thicker than what you see in nature, but that’s fine).

So far, based on my experience, Blender’s capabilities seem… vast, omnipotent, and incomprehensible. I’m sure there’s a logical way to approach a modelling task like this, but it hasn’t yet occurred to me. Can anybody offer me some pointers, so that I can begin to blend my Blender self-education in that direction?

Thank you!

This is the kind of post that is sure to bring out some great solutions, and I hope it does. This is my workflow vision for it, it guarantees a clean, all quad, and manifold final result. And all without modeling a single face yourself. It takes advantage of one of the somewhat lesser used modifiers: the skin modifier. Here it is boiled down, and a blend to look at as well. And now I sit and wait for Kaluura to come in and lay down a faster, better, and more elegant solution than this one… :wink: (You can click on the image, and then click again, to see it at full resolution) [edit: duplicate is shift-D)