Paint realistic texxtures

Um, for the first time in my life I’m trying to texture paint a model I’ve sculpted (some of you may recognize it from an earlier thread of mine) and when I had painted in my base colors I realised that I have no idea of breaking them up. Se the pic for what I’ve done so far.

I’ve tried a few things like painting a black color with a “soft light” blending and a cloud texture as a mask, but it didn’t make it look better.
It’s not that I’ve no reference pictures for the details, it’s that I dont know how to paint them.

See, I’ve never done this before, whats the usual workflow to create realistic textures - in this case some kind of gorilla skin texture.

Blend: https://www.dropbox.com/s/6bxojvwf21nbvdq/Vargmonster2.blend?dl=0

Thanks!

The first rule of Texture Pain Club is: Save the image you’re painting. If you ‘generate’ an image in Blender, and don’t save it as an external file, it will not save any changes you make to the image when the blend file is closed. I’m probably not the only one that’s put in hours of paint work only to open the file the next day to stare at blank pink walls :mad:

The second rule of Texture Pain Club is: Save the image you’re painting!

Now that that’s out of the way…

Texture Painting can be a messy and cumbersome and sometimes hair-pulling experience, especially for the initiate. A good workflow and organization are key, so you are on the right track mentally.

You can load an image into the brush’s Texture, set its mode to Stencil, and it will enable you to ‘airbrush’ that image across the surface of your geometry. It’s probably not going to give you the most professional results, and takes some trial&error before you get comfortable with it, but once you do it’s a very fast and effective way to cover a lot of surface. And (personally at least) it’s a hell of a lot of fun!