Patrick - a fullCGI realistic human portrait

I’m taking a deep dive into my first realistic portrait project. I am basing on some sculpting workshops form Artheroes and of course the awesome ‘Human’ course by Kent Tremmel (cannot be overhyped - deserves all the praise and more)
I am trying to give it my own spin and build a character with some backstory (so I decided to go with my teen love for the Seattle 90’s music scene and make him kinda a young lumber jack playing in a punk band) I’m slowly coming to some results but now the real fun is tweaking these small details so any constructive feedback is welcome (just be kind and helpful- it’s my first time :slight_smile: though I have some serious experience in other areas of CG)

latest render update (for thumb’s sake):

previous WIP’s:

Hey, this is a really great start!! :smiley:

In terms of feedback, I have a few things I can point out.

The skin looks a little plasticy at the moment. I think tweaking the SSS might help you there. Also roughness maps.

In terms of the sculpt in general, I think it’s pretty good, but a few things stand out to me. Firstly, I think his brows could be a little more defined. Currently they’re pretty flat. Usually men will have much more prominent brow bones, so worth considering.

I also think perhaps the cheek bones are a little too gaunt and high. Generally cheek bones will ease around the corners of the eyes, though yours extend above, more towards the brows. I also think the ears could do with a little more depth.

Finally, I think the brow hairs could use a little work.

Skin details all look fantastic!

2 Likes

thanks!
That’s some great feedback - really appreciated.
I guess I jumped into some deep waters not having a specific reference but rather combining multiple refs into a non-existing guy :slight_smile: that makes the choices a bit fluid and hard.
I am struggling with those brows indeed :slight_smile:

1 Like