paying for feature to be integrated in Blender

how difficult would be to pay for features to be integrated in blender?
we can post a list with features/tools that a group of people would like to see integrated in blender. than once the list is finalized we post the project and see how much will cost. then start raising the money and have the developers finalize the coding.
for example, i’m an architect and i love several features to be integrated in blender (or a version of blender, let’s call it BlenderA, that will be a distro with specific arch tools). so we have a discussion here and define what tools we need. (more snapping, measurement, relative operations, booleans, printing, etc.) and we put up the project. then the coders will ask for an amount of money. we start raising the money and once that is done or 90% done we can pay the coders to do their job. i think is a good way to complement the blender development.

maybe add a donation pledge feature to blenderstorm.org?

simply no. If that were to happen It should be a single disto but in prefs to turn on “arch” mode for example!

mzungu, now that is not a bad idea.

I have to say that this sort of thing has been tried before… “bounty for a feature” is not something new, sadly it hasn’t really taken off so far.

There already is an effort of this kind under way to bring NURBS up to something modern and more useful than what they are now.
http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?t=131557
It is very serious, very well done but it is still quite experimental.

There could be another project, for architects this time.
http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/BlenderDev/BlenderArchiProject
this one is sure to get the avail of the foundation.

Let’s watch these two evolve and then we should get a better idea of what’s possible and how it should be done.

A prediction: the hardest part will never be to get the money but to find competent developers, even just one.

Jean