PC build mid-level & costs suggestions

Dear all,

I spent last lockdown trying to push my knowledge a bit farther and touched several new aspects of blender:

• smoke
  • Fluid sym
  • vfx
  • keying and compositing
  • out of topic: after effects video compositing

I am on a new MacBook 16” and, to give you a benchmark: to render a vfx video made by a still render and a 12 min video, it took me almost 12 hours.

This is just to clarify probably my request is not just connected to my poor level of knowledge about rendering setups.
I was trying to import a keyed clip (8 seconds) to work directly in blender, every time I tried to adjust a light a prop or anything, it took me so long, I had to give up as the cycles preview mode was sending me crazy.

I am a noob, but still a nerd lover of vfx and blender and I would like to go ahead both with blender and after effects even I won’t became a new Ian Hubert :+1:
I would like to have from you some mid level suggestions for an assembled pc to have more chances to create something more.

Should I start with a gaming laptop?
Would it be better a desktop pre-assembled?
Shoul I go for a custom one focusing just on HDD and video gpu?

I don’t want nor need to invest lot’s of money as this is just the beginning and don’t want to invest 3k€

Can you help me?

Hi, if you go for a laptop you will get about 50% performance of a desktop system with the same price.
Look for a gaming desktop with a Ryzen 5 CPU and a mid class GTX 1660 GPU, SSD and minimum of 8 GB Ram. Such a system is about 7-800 €.
You need a display but it is possible to work remote from your MacBook, too.
Later you can change the GPU to a faster one and double or tripple your render performance. Depends of the mainboard and power supply it is possible to add a second GPU instead of change it.
If you on a MacBook Pro you should have enough power for smoke/fluid, are you?

Cheers, mib

Hello, thank you for this first reply.

1. laptop have the advantage to be compact