Please, Help with Baking Normals 😥

Hello, I’m a junior character artist. I will be very grateful for some advice about baking normals and other textures. I baked Character and his clothes\mask\staff using a cage in Blender. I can’t find the solution to fixing a normal map, maybe you can help or you know good literature\courses\videos to learn. Thank you!!

I’ve attached screenshots below to make it clearer what went wrong.

1. There are joints between the shoulder and the body, but I don’t know if they would be noticeable if I added materials.
  2. It is unclear why the bandages look different.

↑There are also joints where there are no seams.

↑If I don’t bake each part separately, the normal map looks like this

I could offer some advice.

In the first image, the differences in color might be completely correct. Normal maps are directional and will be adjusted to the UV’s rotation. You should try using it as a normal map in the material, it should look correct as long as everything is plugged correctly (set the image to non-color and send it through a normal map node).

In the second image, those arches are going to be hard to bake, because the 2 models are too different. I can think of a few ways to solve this:

• First, see what it looks like when the normal map is actually used as a normal map. Maybe it’s not so bad.
  • Add more polygons to the low-poly to better match the shape of the high-poly mesh. If you are trying to make a modern game character, don’t worry too much about the added polygon count, today’s game engines can take multiple times the resolution of your character without any problem.
  • Change the shape of the high poly mesh to be more angular and match the low-poly, embrace the angular nature of the model as part of the style.
  • Remove the normal map on this section of the mesh. go into texture paint and just paint this section in the color of an empty normal map.