Please make the current wiki docs downloadable

Newbie here. Blender is deep, and reputed to be difficult to learn. No need to make it more difficult than it has to be by only offering obsolete documentation for download. There appear to be unofficial .chms that have been compiled from a more current wiki and placed in arbitrary places on the net for download. Why not make the wiki available for download from this site? Those of us for whom 56k connections are a sad reality would be very grateful.

The documentation, as well as much of the programming / creation of the software itself is all done voluntarily by a small team of people in their spare time.

So, the reality is, if you want a downloadble version of current docs, you’ll probably have to do it yourself. If you setup a regularly updated / downloadble system, then you’d have what you need, instead of waiting for “them” to do it :slight_smile:

I’m also on 56k, and am actually happy that the docs are in Wiki format, so at that :

a) I can open/download only the sections that I’m interested in … rather than a massive 10-15meg?? download

b) the docs are actually updated more frequently with the Wiki format than they would be for a “once-a-month / 2-months …???” bulk update

Even with the “current” docs, though there are actually many areas still un/poorly documented. The “old” documentation is in some cases a better reference than than “new” docs … especially (obviously) in those areas of the program that haven’t changed.

I’ve been trying to help out, adding small updates … as I learn the software from the existing docs / the forums here. If more people helped out, the docs would be much better.

Mike