portals?

I’m wondering if there’s any way to make portals such as the ones in Portal or Prey (dynamically updated portals you can see through). I assume it would use some sort of render to texture, but I was wondering if there was some way to do this in Blender (I have absolutely no GLSL knowlege). (The teleporting part is easy, with a get/set pos script, it’s the seeing through part I’m wondering about). And yes, I did a search first.

Ehh…I think the only way to make it look as good as Prey GLSL would be nice to know, but there are other ways of making it, like using some alpha and modelling the shape of the portal. But Im new to Blender GE so yeah. Hope I couldb e of some help.

Its not currently possible. Not even with the current GLSL implementation. It will, however, be possible when the ogre integration is finished. By that time, the blender ge will have full access to opengl.

I think there is one way to currently pull it off in the BGE, but it would be one ugly hack:

I had this idea some time ago about making a “duplicate room” on the other side of the wall where the portal is shot. That way, you could seamlessly cross to the other side just like in the Valve game, and you wouldn’t need any GLSL, or render to texture to pull it off. Although given that it would be quite expensive (geometry wise), because you would need two copies of the room for both portal entries.

If my theory on this is correct, all that would be required to make the “portal” illusion would be a somewhat elaborate script to determine which duplicate room side lines up with which original room side (according to where the portals were initially shot).