Possible to glare only 1 material in animation scene?

Hope someone can help me. I’m trying to figure out how to add glare node only to diamonds in animation and not the metal. is there a way to only effect the diamond shader or affect diamond mesh? Only thing I have been able to do is mess with the lighting to direct the glare to diamonds but doesn’t work for the other camera angles in animation. Im new to composting so i dont really know what to look for.

Welcome!

The compositor affects the image after the render, so the actions you will need to take have little to do with the 3D scene.

This seems like a good use case for the cryptomatte. It’s a feature that allows you to select and mask individual materials and objects in the compositor after they are rendered.

Step 1-
We start with a scene with 2 balls that have 2 different materials. They are both affected by the glare.

Step 2-
Create a cryptomatte node. You will see there is also a cryptomatte(legacy) option, ignore it, as it’s part of an older and more complicated way of doing the same.

Step 3-
In the “view layer” options, activate cryptomatte for materials. You will see this is going to add some cryptomatte pins in the compositor, but ignore those, as they are for the old method.

Step 4-
On the cryptomatte node, enter the name of the material you wish to mask (in this case, your metal part). If you plug the “matte” output into the viewer, you will see you get the shape of the material as a white mask on a black background.

Step 5-
Pass your main image into a mix node with the other input set to black and the cryptomatte mask as the fac. You now have an image where one material has been removed and doesn’t affect the glare.

Step 6-
We now have to isolate just the glare and place it on top of the original image. Set the glare’s mix to 1, this will give you an image with the glare alone.

Step 7-