Problem with normals, but worse than that :(

Crazy normals or something, need help making the foot not look like its been in a “blender” haha but seriously…

So I’m studying at the University of Utah and I’m making my own human body in 3D. In the class our instructor didn’t have time to show us how to do the foot so he told us to use his. I imported the OBJ he gave me into blender and everything was fine. It looks good in the view port, even in textured view it looks OK. But when rendered, it looks crazy and awful and “triangle-y” and crazy. I’ve tried looking at the normals and they are all facing outwards and I’ve tried making normals consistent but that didn’t help. This sometimes happens when there is a duplicate of a mesh on top of itself, but I made sure there wasn’t any extra vertices[AT

TACH]204724[/ATTACH]. Anybody have any idea what could be the problem? The foot was made in Maya then exported as OBJ in case that matters…
I attached a pic of the problem and the blend file with the foot

Attachments

problematic_foot.blend (648 KB)

I don’t see any specific problem , it’s very odd.

But probably linked to that problem, if i click on that foot, then go to edit mode, it will crash Blender 2.65 RC1 instantly.
While Blender 2.64a has no problem with it.

I would report this new bug as it’s still time before the official 2.65 release, but that’s not my blend.
So can you report this on the bug tracker, or would you allow me to do it with your blend ?

It looks like there’s indeed lots of faces doubled and so overlapping (delete a face in edit mode and notice how there’s another one under it, but very strange is that W->Remove double is unable to fix that problem.

See the faces that are in a different shade of orange, it’s where the faces are all doubled.
And it correspond exactly to the area you observe the rendering problem.