problem with parenting with automatic weights

Hi,

I’ve been working on a sculpt of a dragon, and have just finished sculpting and texturing my model.
I made my model in a static position and want to rig it so that I can move it around.
The model is simply to create a single image so all I want is actually to link the rig to my model, but when I select the model --> select the rig --> choose armature deform with automatic weights, deforming the rig in pose mode won’t influence the mesh.

I’m quite new to rigging so I probably just made a stupid mistake, but any help would be greatly appreciated.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B9hSF8uWR0I9N1Y0YndJQjUwaTQ

This is why:

You have 425,000+ Tris (three sided faces) in your model and no quads (four sided faces) Blender prefers Quads, so there is no chance of me finding out which one could be causing the issues. I tired with just an extract of you model, the head, and got the same result. So there are no weights assigned to any bones, therefore no movement of the mesh when you pose the bones. I am not sure where you go from here, it is going to take a very long time to work out where the problems lies.

I checked for unapplied rotations or scales - not the problem, I checked for duplicates, took 56 out of the head, but that still didn’t get a weight assignment. I don’t know where to go next with this.

I tried with an even smaller bit of the head and got a weight assignment, but that was just a bit of trial and error!

Cheers, Clock.

… and I also tried weight painting the head after I did an empty groups parent, that worked, but that is going to be a very long job for you. I will look at you armature for possible errors and report back.

Cheers, Clock.

You need to re-topologize your sculpt before you try to rig it. Here’s a link to get you going, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=maDuLzl6MXU. A better alternative would be to check out Blender Cookie or Olivar Villar tutorials.

Here’s one problem area: