Problems with camera view

03 Breakable 01Aaaaa.rar (960.9 KB)
I’m new to Blender and I’m having trouble with camera view in the file I’m working on. So what happens is, well, several things.

1. The camera doesn’t show me the aspect ratio (rectangle thingy showing me what cameras sees)
  2. Solid and material preview don’t show me what camera should see. Only Render viewport shows it.
  3. When I first switch to Render view it shows the picture distorted. However when I exit camera view and return in it, it shows the image correctly.
  4. For some reason my mouse scroll zoom in and out as well as translation stop working in camera mode. Only turning works.

When I open another file or I use the default cube everything works. The previous version also work. Only this file for some reason doesn’t and I’m at a loss. I’ve also attached the file if anyone can make anything out of it.

On the right view hit Home… You may had moved the view out of the way before setting Camara to View or hit accidently Ctrl-Alt-Numpad-0 (which curriously doesnn’t work for me)… ??

Thanks for the reply, but nope, none of those. Still doesn’t account to why camera works in Rendering mode and doesn’t work in Solid and Material preview.

Did you try switching the camera? Also, when a file has funny behavior, and I can’t fix it, one thing I will try is to append the whole scene to a fresh file, which sometimes fixes the issue.

You don’t have the camera selected according to view 1 or 2…to view the aspect ratio the camera must be selected…Usually just Hitting zero on the Numpad will do it if not then selecting in the outliner and then hitting zero…
Hitting the Gizmo should preview your camera but also doesn’t select it…

The distortion was from not having your ratio set 1:1 you have it scewed in the Y…also a 26 mm lens will add distortion…Camera shift will change things yours was shifted again to the Y … all of these things change what is rendered vrs. what you see on screen…