Problems with keyframes when animating

Hello! This is my first time posting on the forum, and even more importantly, my first time really sitting down to learn Blender. I am trying to learn this so I can create my own models for use in Unity, and not have to worry about finding free ones or paying out a lot of money for this hobby. I am trying to animate a model I have imported from MakeHuman(as a .mhx), and I have had somewhat okay success. The first problem is that the animation, when played in Unity, is not smooth. Basically it is a walking animation, but instead of looking like a smooth, continous walkling motion, it jumps back to the first pose. Here are how the keyframes are set up:

1st keyframe: Character raises right leg a little, and right arm goes back.
2nd keyframe: character extend right leg farther, and right arm goes farther back.
3rd keyframe: Right leg comes back to standing pose, as well as right arm.
4th keyframe: Character raises left leg, left arm goes back
5th ketframe: Character extends left leg fully, left arm goes even farther back

This animation looks like the character is walking in Unity, but it not smooth/continuous. I do have the animation lopping continuously in Unity, it just looks ‘chopped’, if thats the right word. I am not sure what I am doing wrong here.

The second problem I am having, is when I create a keyframe, then create a seocnd one, it applies the effects of the second keyframe to the first keyframe. Here is an example of what I mean:

1st keyframe the character extends right leg.
2nd keyframe the character brings back right leg.
3rd & 4th keyframes the character repeats this, except with left leg

The problem is that the position of the left leg in the 3rd keyframe gets applied to the 1st keyframe.

I have no idea what I am doing wrong on either of these issues, and I would greatly appreciate some advice/help. Thanks for taking the time to read my post!