Procedural Stair CAD Blocks

Hello friends,

I create floor plans for various projects from time to time. The floor plans are often in 3D, but sometimes they should be in 2D. For the 2D views, I always have difficulties “drawing” the stairs. I have tried to use an image or a texture, but stairs are not all the same length, width, etc. and the images get distorted. I have no idea how this works in AutoCAD, for example. Using the word AutoCAD, I have only found so-called CAD blocks, which in turn are images.

Ideally, I have a face that I select and I can use a modifier or another add-on to create curves with geometry on the face so that it symbolizes a staircase.

Here is an example of an end result as I would imagine it:
Example image of a floor plan with CAD block stairs

I am also not averse to doing this via geometry nodes. But unfortunately I have no experience of how to implement this.

It would also be okay if the staircase is actually 3D and the modifier or add-on would create the correct lines or curves based on the 3D information. That would probably be best, as I usually want to display the 2D floor plan in 3D as well.

Your help or ideas are very welcome :slightly_smiling_face:

– Cheers, Nils

Standardized stairs can be made in advance, registered as assets, and brought when necessary.
Standardized stairs are possible, but non-standardized stairs will have to be drawn every time.

※ Everything that is standardized can be registered as an asset in advance and used.

I think I know what you mean. But I don’t think there are really standardized stairs. Every staircase I’ve had so far has had at least a different length. If you take an image texture that has an arrow at the end of the staircase, for example, then this arrow is always distorted. This is even more noticeable with the typical circles at the beginning of a staircase.

Any other ideas?

I don’t know which image variant you’re talking about.