Programming + BGE

I am a self-taught programmer ---- I will share my experiences & give advice on the best practices.

Let me begin, by saying programming can be very useful (if you are extremely competent) … but it is also very difficult & time consuming. There are many trade-offs. But like any skilled trade, nothing is easy. For example, opening a restaurant requires tremendous skills, experience, labor, assets, etc. Even the “oldest profession” (ie sex worker), there is the “emotional trauma” (essentially you are selling a piece of your soul).

In life, there are seldom “”“easy, get rich quick”"" schemes (that does not involve exploitation or theft). -------------> So, you need to think hard if “COMPUTER PROGRAMMING” is for you. Only 1 out of 10,000 people have what it takes to be a truly skilled programmer. It requires:

(1) VERY HIGH INTELLIGENCE
(2) LOTS OF TIME & EFFORT

=======================================================================

Here is something important that you seldom hear / read about ==> Often it is not only what you “SHOULD DO”, but also what you “SHOULD NOT DO”. My philosophy in life, applies to learning as well. You need to recognize what is:

(1) ESSENTIAL
(2) USEFUL
(3) WASTEFUL
(4) HARMFUL

A lot of people not only get “”“burned out”"" from Computer Programming, but they WASTE THEIR LIVES AWAY … and this is very bad, because life is precious. Time is precious. So in this thread I will not only share with you what I am doing … but also, advise on what NOT TO DO. :slight_smile:

I will list 8 programming languages that I am specializing in. I will also explain WHY you would not want to waste your time with other programming languages (with very good reasons). :slight_smile:

(1) GDSCRIPT
(2) GLSL
(3) Python
(4) Haxe
(5) C
(6) Assembly
(7) C++
(8) Shell scripting