Proper workflow to add green screened actor to 3D environment (with camera, actor movement)?

Hi, I am new to VFX, and I know I am jumping in the deep end. I am trying to add keyed footage into a 3D environment where both camera and subject were moving.

As experiment I am using my cat. I have 804 frames of 25 fps footage. 1080p. Have it in OpenEXR image sequence format.

I just want to see if I can get this test done successfully.

I am using SynthEyes, understand I can use Blender for camera solve, but I prefer SynthEyes for its control and export options.

Anyway, here is what I have done:

1. Solve for camera. In SynthEyes I used Auto, refined points, deleted points that clearly didn’t make sense, made sure no trackers were on cat, set up ground plane, orientation, origin. Error about 0.4. Exported to Blender as python script.

2. Key the footage. For this test I didn’t use green screen. I used rotobrush in AE.

3. Rendered from AE keyed result as OpenEXR iamge sequence, 25 fps.

4. Imported camera to Blender. SynthEyes has option to create camera background for Blender, and here is what that looks like:

5. Now here is where I am confused… I realize I can just set the keyed image sequence to be the background, and I get good result, things look fine, but with this option I can’t do anything like have lighting effect the “actor”, can’t have shadows cast. For this reason I thought people generally use image as planes.

If I do that I get this result:

Notice how at times the cat is sliding around. I suppose this is unavoidable since the camera solve inherentlky had trouble at certain moments? But shouldn’t the camera solve error data be able to be used to apply a transform to make the view look same as the camera background view? Or am I missing something? Now with my planned shots (me playing guitar, sometimes walking on plane, no crazy movement) should I expect to have better result?