provide model UV to export to md2 file

Hi
I am newbie here, I have some problems when I try to export from blender to MD2 file. I have the model opened with blender version 2.49. when I select export to md2, the dialog box appears and I set it as follows:
scale factor: 1
MD2 file to save: tris.md2
Frame list to load: default (I need to export a single image)
Texture path: D:\Documents and Settings…\Desktop…ssss.bmp

when I hit export, the following message appears: model does not have UV (face or vertex).

can any one help me in how to make UV for the model?
and how to export to md2 files step by step?

I tried to do the same in the new version 2.52 Alpha 2. But I could not find any button to export to MD2 files. so, does this version support md2 files? and can I export to md2 files? if yes, where is the button and how to use it?

I know lots of questions but execuse my ignorance please, I need an urgent advise to solve this problem.
I appreciate your help

thank you

md2 requires the whole model be a single object & everything must be assigned a UV. So there’s something somewhere that doesn’t make a UV assigned to it. Double check. When I had this error I found I forgot one vert.

With the UV window open, go in to edit mode & select the UV verts in the UV window & make sure it’s synced with the 3d window. Then invert the selection in the 3D window & it should show you what you missed.

BTW, the default frame list exports 198 frames (0-197). Use something like Quake 2 Model Editor to remove the extra frames.

Many thanks for help.

I used these information and managed to export something from Blender to md2 file and rendered with OpenGL.

However, I got a strange image.
The model is a sphere with the earth map.

can anyone suggest about the reason and how to get the same image of Blender?
here is the image I got from Opengl:

here is the texture I used is here

http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/File:BlueMarble-2001-2002.jpg[/SIZE][/FONT