Python drawLine one after the other.

Hey all,
So i’m delving into Python to do some visualization.

I’m using drawLine, something like rend.drawLine([ -5.0, 0, 2.85],[ 5.0, 0, alt], [1.0, 0.0, 0.0])
in while loop, but I need to draw one line after the other, so, adding a delay, I’m not a Python expert.
I have a logic brick set to pulse active, otherwise the lines only draw for one frame and disappear, I need them to draw one after the other but stay on the screen.

I’m sure this is a simple fix, can someone point out what I should do?

Thank so much. :slight_smile:

UPDATE:
I just noticed, and realized, using it with a logic brick set to pulse will run the script again and again, and the rasterizer will hit the roof… so how can I keep the drawLines on the screen, and draw them one iteration at a time? Thanks.

You’ll probably need to use a timer or somesort to drigger the next line with delay. Not sure if Delay sensor could be used here.
Problem with while loop is that it’ll run the whole while loop through before proceeding to the next frame.
So you wont be able to do this kind of line_draw, delay, line_draw, system with that.

But wouldn’t I want to run the whole while loop through, as each iteration of the loop draws another line? just that it happens so fast I can’t see it drawing line by line, and I can’t keep the lines on the screen without running the script repeatedly.
I tried pythons sleep command, but wasn’t working.

Thing is that for game engine to process stuff that actually are drawn on screen, iterations are not seen but rather you can only see the final result after the whole while loop is finished.

So this would work, and you would see each iterations:

v = 0

while v < 100000:
   v += 1
   print (v)

However with things that are manipulated and drawn on screen. Game engine only shows you what comes after a while loop (final result of it). For example:

value = 0
    while value < 10:
        value += 0.001