question about career with blender

I have a diploma in graphic design but have done little with the design part of it. I want to head into the 3d part of it and was wondering a couple things. I have used 3d max, bryce, carrara, poser and now blender. What exactly is holding blender from being just as good if not better than say 3d max(if any at all)? I want to start my own 3d design company including models, animation and realtime. Ive been using bryce, carrara and poser lately because of the shared interfaces and such and ease of use, but im really getting to like blender and the interface. Unbiasedly, do you guys recommend me using blender professionaly? Basically im trying to tie down to one program and then get started on learning all there is about the prog and getting busy doing it professionally. Do i nned a prog like 3d max to make the most out of 3d or is blender just as good if not better. Sidenote: I made a model in blender using the box method then subsurfing. Then I exported as .obj and imported into bryce 3d, but the model came in not subsurfed, just the box type model. Any idea why. Sorry for the long post, please help. Thanks

last question is the eaisiest: onj export does not takt subsurf in to consideration. if you want your high-res mesh, convert the subsurf into a mesh (Alt+C) and export then.

running a business is different. and knowing some type of software is essential for doing 3D :wink: . WHAT software, is fully up to you. much more important than software are your skills, as that is what you actually earn money with. noone will pay you for just being a 3dsmax expert if you have no clue abt. graphic design (which i aasume is of course not the case).

if you really have a design company, you’ll probably need acouple of programs which you’ll use parallel or in combination. bender can be one of them, of course.