question about mirror modifier

Hi Folks

newbie here
if I take the default cube in the default top view and subdivide it twice
then select the half of the vertices on the left side of the screen and delete them
then I apply a mirror modifier
it mirror the remaining vertices and edges over the Z axis
I see this in different tutorials and folks then just proceed from there
but the default in the mirror modifier is to mirror across the X axis
if I deselect that, and select the Z axis, the effect goes away
what am I missing?
I can work with it like it is but it seem to me like it doesn’t work right
I’m sure I’m just thinking about it wrong:spin:
please straighten me out

Thanks
Dave

The modifier is working, but both sides are already symetrical so you don’t see anything. Earlier, you subdivided the cube and deleted the one side, this let you see what was happening when you mirrored the x axis. If you remove the bottom half, you’ll be able to see the results of mirroring along the z axis.

if I remove the bottom half of the cube, what remains is symmetrical about the Y axis so mirroring about the X or the Z should give be back the full cube.
this is what I get

http://drobbins.net/mirror.png

that looks like mirroring about X or Z would work but in fact mirroring about Y (what’s shown in the pic) produces a whole cube
I’m lost:(

Dave

I think you are confusing yourself thinking about what “axis” it is mirroring around.
When you select mirror on Y, every vertex is duplicated around the center point in the y “direction” not on the axis. It is helpful to work in the front view 1. Select the left side, delete vertices and add your mirror. This is the “default” way the mirror is intended to work. If you also delete the bottom half in front view, then turn the mirror on Z as well you will again have the full cube. Hope that helps.

around the center point in the y "direction" not on the axis.

bingo, that explains it:)