Rain Lip-Sync Animation

Hi, this is my first time doing face animation and lip syncing. I would love to hear your critiques on this animation I made with the Rain rig. I Think the hand and arm movements before she makes the two fists can be more expressive, what are your thoughts? :slightly_smiling_face:

7 Likes

Well, the audio is muffled and hard to hear what she’s saying. “I’ve been to a million artisans”?

My advice would be to act this out yourself on video. Note what your face does while you’re saying this. Use the video as a guide. It should help a lot. Also put a mirror right above your monitor and use your own face as a guide.

I’ve never used this model rig. How much control do you have over the facial expressions?

1 Like

I would say “don’t shy away from the mouth sounds” and make her open her mouth more and move the upper lip more.

The guy saying “what” is just distracting.

Also you could move her right and up in the frame.

2 Likes

Thanks for your critique! I will use a more clear audio sample next time.
It’s a pretty complex rig so i would say theres allot of control over the facial expressions, but it’s the first complex character i have ever used, so I can’t really compare it with others.
Here is a link where you can download the Rain Rig if you are interested :slight_smile::

1 Like

This is a pretty advanced section of audio. My few suggestions would be try to find a slower piece of audio to lip sync to because it is easier to learn with something slower.

Also it almost looks like the body was animated last. I’m not sure if that’s what happened but it looks a bit choppy compared to the lips. It could be because it’s just so fast. Half of what makes lip sync so appealing is the body language that goes with it.