Real world dimensions ?

Hi, I’m new to blender so this may be a stupid question, but anyway…

How do I work with real world dimensions ? For example I want to model a bathroom cabinet and it is 180 cm high x 130 cm wide and 60 cm deep.

How do i model the correct measurements ?

Thanx

Well, reading the doc is a good start!

Blender has its own ‘blender units’

You state 1 blender unit = 1 meter

Voilà

Stefano

Although that is only relevant for the game engine, where gravity and physics come into play.

I wonder what things go on in peoples’ minds when they ask “How can I measure real-world units in Blender”.

I mean, what’s the difference if Blender shows “1”, “1ft” or “1m”? I don’t get it :slight_smile:

That’s easy:
The camera lens is an important element when it comes to ‘how big something looks’. If you don’t know that (or don’t know how to change the camera lens), it is not a stupid question.

Ah well. So the camera lens = millimeters and 1 BU = 1 meter fit?

I don’t understand. But that’s probably what you want. :wink:

Sorry, again in a different way : :slight_smile:

The camera lens value is meant in millimeters, and that would physically correctly correspond with a scene that is built with 1 Blender Unit = 1 Metre?

I don’t know if this a question or meant to make fun of me (That should make you think…)

All I want to say is that the impression of size in 3D has to do with the camera lens. The extreme case of an orthogonal camera leaves no feeling of size at all. I don’t know exact values for the lens settings.

umm, no. the impression of size comes from relations of objects (we know) to each other. the lens setting simulates different - well, camera lenses, but in blender they don’t care how big the structures shown are. and this is completely irrelevant, as the impression of size comes only with some “hints” you give the human eye/brain.