I just updated to 2.59 and discovered all of my preferences have been reset. Is there are any way to get them back? I didn’t change a lot, but it would be a pain to keep setting it up every time I update.
If you haven’t uninstalled the older version you can save it then open in with load UI enabled and then save as default in 2.59.
There used to be a file called default.blend and you could simply copy it from one version to another, but this seems to have changed or at least I find myself unable to locate such a file.
Though I think the more recent releases all share the same defaults now, so shouldn’t be an issue in the future.
Is that the preferences or the User Settings? My User Settings did transfer to the new version.
Find your blender user directory. It depends on the OS you’re using of course. For *nix/Unix-like it’s ~/.blender, for Windows, it’s in your user profile, i.e. %AppData%\Blender Foundation\Blender.
Blender creates a new subdirectory for each version. Simply duplicate any existing directory and rename it.
For example when upgrading from 2.58 to 2.59, you’ll have a directory named 2.58. Either rename it directly to 2.59 or make a copy of 2.58 and rename it to 2.59.
Seems like that was a bad idea, after doping that my 3D mouse no longer works in blender…
Ah hell, I deleted the duplicate folder and restored the original one from the recycle bin. 3D Mouse still doesn’t work. I’ll have to reinstall. Not a big deal.