Reliving Childhood

Hi Guys!

This is my first post here. WOOO!! :slight_smile:

I’ve been using blender on and off for probably five years now but this is the first time i’ve really used blender to do something more personal and imaginative.

I was trying to go for a low poly ‘abstract’ look on top of realism.

I would love any of your feedback on the concept, composition and the realism of the quilt/doona. I had a lot of trouble trying to get a quilt that looked alright which has meant that my UV mapping was bad.

Many thanks in advance for your comments :smiley:

I really like your idea and what you’ve done here. Great job! The feel I’m getting is a child playing in their bedroom with their toys, but many of the things are in that abstract style. Like the buildings, trees, and hills.

There are a few thing that can be tweaked, the edges of the render seem blurred, I believe there’s a bit too much light coming through the window, not too much but too bright.

Overall it’s giving a great abstract feel :slight_smile:

Thanks for your comment coolfield7 :slight_smile:

I applied a masked lens blur on the image in photoshop to give it a dreamy feel (also to hide my poorly mapped hand!), perhaps it’s not strong enough?

I really love this , its beautiful work. What I would do is play with the contrasts a bit more because they image is too bright and loses some of its details.

Thanks Kilon!

Here’s one with the highlights taken back a bit and other minor adjustments.

I liked that blur , what I said, its that the overall image could use a bit more contrast and dynamics. the right side has more than the left side. For example you could make your wall a bit darker and the drawings on the way as well so it pops out of the clouds in front. Though clouds could use a bit more detail to stand out. I like their low poly look , but I do think a bit more detail with similar look would improver the overall contrast. But overall I think the image is very nice.