Removing part of an Object From an Object?

I’m rather new to Blender- I’ve mainly been using Sculptris but thought I should try my hand at this :slight_smile:

Now I’m pretty sure there is an easier way then what I’m doing, if not this is going to take awhile lol.

I’m making a snap in set of wings for a doll, which will then be Printed via shapeways. What I need is the ball joint to be removed from what I’ve created in Sculptris so it can pop in and out.

What I’ve done so far is remove the verticies from the ball, and then add the edges to the piece, leaving the original sphere inside.

Is there a way to just easily cut out the sphere from the object? Or is the way Im going at it the only way? I’ve already spent an hour just doing what I did so far lol.

Thank you! ~Brittany

Simplest option would be a boolean modifier http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Doc:2.6/Manual/Modifiers/Generate/Booleans

Depending on how clean you want your mesh yo may want to do some manual cleanup of the result you get

I kind of have a similar problem that I will try to explain without confusing people: