Rendering Omni‐directional Stereo Content on Eevee | 360º 3D VR

Hello friends!

I’m making a 360º stereoscopic Virtual Reality short animation rendered in Eevee called Resilience Satelle r.i.c.e.: https://blenderartists.org/t/resilience-satelle-r-i-c-e

…but as you know we don’t have an equirectangular/panoramic camera for Eevee just yet. :sweat_smile:

So far THIS PAPER from Google is still the best description on how to achieve this.
Pay attention that I’m not a programmer, but still this paper talks sense even to me.

My question:
:thinking:
How hard would it be to convert the code they share in the last two pages, to make an add-on to create such a camera for Blender Eevee renderer.

I know that eventually Eevee will have a panoramic camera, but because we are almost ready to render I’m searching for a more immediate solution.

Is this code even compatible or adaptable to a Blender python script/Blender add-on?
I’m open to invest some money on this, but first I would like to have a confirmation that is actually something that worth’s it.

Best regards
-Rogério-

So the paper code seems to want lower level access than I believe Blender provides. Unless you can access the render engine rays, which maybe you can?

But is there any reason you can’t use two cameras as part of a stereo pair, rotate 360 and stitch everything together? It seems similar to what the code is doing?

1 Like

Hello @RajW!
Thank you very much for taking the time to give a look to the paper!

Well… my only reason is that to do all that it’s just way faster and less painful to render everything on Cycles :sweat_smile: We do have all our shaders compatible with Eevee and Cycles… but I like Eevee look better and wile a 4092*4092 frame in Eevee takes 5 minutes to render on Cycles takes 1+ hour.

Being this an animated movie with 20000 frames…
Unity and Unreal Engine does this stuff, right! There must be a way! :slight_smile: