Rendering optimisation advice is needed. Cycles, 2.8

Hello. I am working on a medieval interior scene (my first interior attempt) with lots of light sources. I have a huge hall (40 x 30m) which is lit by candles (around 60 point light sources) and moonlight through the windows - I use area light for that. I am relatively new to all CGI industry and a self-taught, so it is hard to determine which render settings should I tweak to achieve the best possible result. The main problem is LOTS of noise, even when I try to render with 5000samples. I am working on a gaming laptop with GeForce GTX1060, core i7 7700HQ and 8gb of RAM. Would be grateful for your thoughts.
This is just a quick render without materials and most of the objects (200 samples, 1/2 full hd resolution, only main geometry) for the general idea what am I speaking about.

Cycles is not great with many and varied sized light sources. Especially mesh lights are problematic, but you’ve avoided them here. A “many lights” patch was mentioned long time ago, but I don’t don’t the status of this.

1. Use intels denoiser in comp.
  2. Replace moon area lamp with a moon sun lamp.
  3. Render in isolation. First with moonlight only. Then with interior lights only. Then simply add them together in comp.

I tried using HDRI light, then sun lamp and only after that tried area lamps. Somehow HDRI and sun lump gives MUCH MORE noise and fireflies and rendering takes longer time.
Can you please explain how is it possible to combine 2 scenes with different lightning in comp?

I render all cameras out to two (or more) sets of .exr. I don’t use two scenes. Probably could, but never tried.
Then I just add one image to the other. Now I can control intensity and color of the lights independently without re-rendering.