Rendering with CPU or GPU

I’m new to 3D modelling, I’ve started to use Blender a few months ago. Currently I’m rendering on CPU (i5-3570, 4 core, 3.4GHz) which feels very slow so I was thinking about upgrading my PC. Would rendering on GPU be much faster than rendering on my current CPU? I have budget for something like GTX750 Ti or maybe GTX960. I’m not doing any gaming on this PC so if it only gives a small boost to the rendering speed – like 2x – It would be a waste of money for me. Should I buy a faster CPU instead?

I’ve read somewhere that if I render on GPU I can only render scenes that fit into the card’s memory. Is that correct? Will that change in the future?

Background info: I render with Cycles, I use Linux, I mostly work on large scenes but with few or no textures, and please treat me like a clueless newbie:). Thanks!

Hello. Everything depends the CPU and GPU you are comparing.

I have a EVGA GTX 960 4gb SSC and intel i7-3770:
http://www.blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?375718-Cycles-GPU-CUDA-slow-with-some-materials

Overall, my GPU is about twice faster than the CPU. I give an example in case my bad English: If I get two minutes with my CPU, I get 1 minute with my GPU :slight_smile:
If the scene contains volumetrics, hair system or some of these hard materials such as those mentioned in that thread, then the time between my CPU and GPU are paired.

To get an idea of ​​the times with your current hardware, you can use these two .blend files that I shared in the previous thread, then compare with my time (In the message #4 I mention the times of the second scene)

If you think buying a Nvidia GPU, you think in something with 4GB vRAM or higher.

Thanks! Ive been looking at the benchmark results and thinking hence the late response.
The BMW scene took my i5-3570 CPU 5:26 minutes. YAFU: the “material scene” took 51 seconds. What were your results?