[Request] How to create fresnel healights in Cycles?

Here is what I am talking about:

I have been searching all over internetZ for a way to do this. Myself I tried to do with Glass+Some texture. Even created a noise texture in Photoshop, but none work. I am new to this. Any help?

1 Like

did you try to make a real model
but will be high res !

i have one for BL but have to try if it can work in cycles !

salutations

What’s the problem? :confused: It’s just a more or less conic mirror behind a flat glass with a bump map on one side… No?

No need of a super-high definition. Just plug your bump map into the displacement input (with a math node to control the size of the bumps) and the subsurf modifier will smooth the angles.

Did I miss something?

Edit: Writer’s Block beat me on the finish line but we say the same thing: Bump map.

Just a quick note, I notice that putting the bump map into the height input of a bump node (vector --> bump) and then putting that into the normal of the shader gives nicer results. And then changing the strength in the bump node lets you change the amount of bumping. Maybe using something like a brick texture with some mapping that squishes it along the x axis, and using that as the bump map would work.
Hope this helps :slight_smile:

Ok so make a bump map. That’s what I tried to do with the noise texture. Or rather, well, just B&W stripes. Turns out they don’t work very well. I guess I will really have to model the damn thing. I thought I could do without modelling/unwarpping/baking and all that nonsence for a single rectangular headlight.

Oh well, I guess I make other fresnel headlights in the future so I can use this. I hate baking. Thanks for clearing this up, gentlemen, time to get to work.

Ok I have quickly done this to see how this looks and it’s as I expected: just a set of gradient stripes essentially. But now I have a problem:

This a test to see the approximate pattern.