Retro telephone

Revisited a model i started years back while learning Blender.

#telephone assets #vintage #landline #wired #communication

43 Likes

It looks great, but you have the numbers in the wrong order :wink:

5 Likes

Yep, they go counter-clockwise from 1 to 0. Each number makes equal amount of “clicks” when the rotary disk is released.

1 Like

Hahaha, omg you are right.
I have very conflicting references and in the heat of the modeling i must have picked the wrong one. Thanks for letting me know before i started painting @bartv !

1 Like

Haha, I love the sticky notes and how they convey the tone of the call! That’s great. I remember those kind of notes.

1 Like

I like the background, looks stylized, should I say

1 Like

Thank you guys, love your comments.

1 Like

I featured you on BlenderNation, have a great weekend!

1 Like

Thanks Bart, you too :wink:

1 Like

You’re on the featured row! :+1:

1 Like

Now that’s a fantastic relic! Did you have a particular year (or decade) in mind when you made it?

1 Like

Thanks a lot @slingshot101
I can still see it standing in the corner of our living room in the 1980’s and i can still ‘recall’ the distinct sound of the rotary disc when using it :smiley:
I must have been around 12 years old.

2 Likes

OMG, I’m old enough to remember calling friends and family with this. :sweat_smile: Good job!

1 Like

That’s cool! Old technology really has charm like that.

My dad wrote a book that takes place in the 1980s (rotary phone included), so I had to ask. I’m currently modelling for his next story in the series.

Thanks for replying!

2 Likes

Yeah i think these things will be seen as antique relics of engineering and kids today can’t imagine how we had to use those to get stuff done lol
What a great project !
My dad has been drawing/painting his whole life and at one point i think i’ll try to redo a few of his works in Blender.

1 Like