Return positive or negative based on which side an object is on?

Thanks to the guidance of some very helpful individuals, I managed to get turret tracking set up exactly how I had hoped :slight_smile: however I’ve run into another problem. Using .alignAxisToVect() doesn’t leave any room to set up a variable to keep track of the turret’s orientation (example, to lock rotating past -1 Y so the guns won’t shoot through the ship)

So the question is, if you’re using the ship as a reference point, is there a way to make the left cube return a negative number, and the right cube return a positive number? If so, the “shoot through the ship” problem would be very simple to solve. Sorry for the “newby” questions; this is my first attempt at making a serious, complex game with BGE (I came here from Unity as I absolutely DESPISE javascript and C#, heh). And an off-topic question as it’s been bugging me for some time- is there a way to disable auto-save on the forums? Every few seconds when the thread decides to auto-save my text, it’ll lock up my browser until it finishes, making typing anything of length a fun and exciting experience.

I believe you can use the dot product of the forwards vector against the line to the point. However the line to the point must be to the point at the same height

Sure it is. I assume left and right is on the x axis. Retrieve a vector along the local x axis (in world space) of the current object and do a dot product (also called scalar product) with the vector from the current object to the object in question.

If the dot product is negative the object is left if it is positive it is right. If it is zero the object is before,behinf,over or under the current object.

Attachments

Got it, thanks everyone. I feel bad for asking so many simple questions around here, but I suppose you have to learn somehow :stuck_out_tongue:

i dont get it, can you post an example code?
sometimes its easier to me to read python than english lol