Returning animator with newbie questions?

Hi all!

I’m a complete newbie to Blender, but worked with numerous 3D animation apps (3DS, Lightwave, Hash) up until 5 years ago (took a nice looong vacation!)

I’m back to the industry and bumped into Blender 5 days ago, and WOW! This free app blows away the tools I paid thousands of $$ for not that long ago. I’m absolutely blown away by the quality of this program and the wealth of plugins and info that support it and I’m fully charged to get up to speed on this program. I searched the knowledgebase to answer some questions, but still have a few left, so here are my questions:

1. I installed Blender 2.34 (using Windows XP), what directory structure should I use for projects, python scripts, plugins, and such? The program includes a zip file of more Python scripts, where do these go?

2. I found conflicting advice in the knowledge base about which Python version to install, so: a. do I need to install Python? and b. what version do I need?

3. I’m pretty sure that I’m gonna order the printed manual, good idea or is it too old?

4. How many of you are using this for actual production work? And is this your only (or primary) 3D tool?

Many thanks in advance,

Paul

I just have a folder named Blend containing a folder for each project alongside the Bl2.34 folder. But Blender has a nice browse feature that lets you find and handle files easily. And when opening a file it remembers what was last saved.
I use Python 23 installed on the root of c: So far so good, although I had to use an older version of that treemaker (well, neoIstseed228.) but other stuff like makehuman is fine with PY23. ( I only have a P3 with intel graphics card)
The current manual is for 2.3+ . Nice to have.
I use Blender for amature production stuff. I’m hooked and getting better. :wink: