Rhinoceros learning project

Hello everyone. I’m in the process of learning Blender and 3D in general in my free time. This is my first post, so I’m crossing my fingers hoping I’m posting these images right.

Full model rendered in Cycles

Detail on the face. No displacement/bump maps yet… all the details are in the mesh.

The Blender model before I added details in Sculptris.

I have a lot of experience with 2D graphics, but have never taken a serious plunge into 3D before (though I’ve dabbled here and there). My project is a short animation of a photo-realistic White Rhinoceros doing something mundane like running or eating or something. I started building the model in Blender, then took it to Sculptris to add the large wrinkles and creases, and now I hope to bring it back into Blender to add texture and displacement maps (for fine details) before rigging and animating. Problem is, I’m kind of at a loss for what steps to take next. The current model is very detailed (almost half a million polys). How do I begin to UV un-wrap this thing? Is it the same process as unwrapping a simple sub-divided model like you see in all the tutorials, or does a model this complex need a different workflow for unwrapping? Suggestions and critique are very welcome.

If you get nothing but silence in this thread, you should interrupt it as “stunned silence.” That would be considered a good model for someone experienced with 3D, let alone a first attempt.

Very good sculpt and base model!

edit: double post

Thank you everyone for the compliments! You are too kind, and I realize that I still have a lot to learn. I’m pretty sure my topology sucks, which I’m sure will come back to haunt me. Thanks for the link Ricky. That technique looks very useful if it works the way I think it does… mapping the sculpted detail onto my original simple mesh would make things so much easier. I’ll check into into it tonight.