Rick Sanchez

Hey!

I was right in the middle of a big project when Andrew started the character competition so I am kind of pressed for time right now. However, he does say deadlines are great soee…

Nevertheless, I am still very new to this topic and I would love some feedback on this small project. It is not finished wet - I still need to finish the hand, the eyelids and his clothes - but I am having a very hard time getting the bump-mapping right. Do you draw it by hand like a color texture?

Enough talking - here’s the image:

Any feedback will be appreciated!
Thanks!

• Daniel

Attachments

Well, I’m not very happy with the result, but this is the final render after all…

Thanks!

Attachments

I think your work is better than you think. To start with… I can identify it as Rick (even if you didn’t tell me). Secondly, the main characteristics, although not “perfect”, are close to what they should be like. To be honest I think it’s the mouth and nose that need work to get from 90% to 100% likeness. Also, what’s up with his pinky? looks disfigured at the crease above the knuckle.

It is close enough to being Rick as to be recognizable. That is good.

I had seen many cartoon designs given realistic treatment and they always looked uncanny. I think this style is meant to be grotesque. This is a design choice so

There is a need to improve the eyelids though, they should stick to the eyeball. Here they look like they are being peeled off. Though, if you stay more true to the cartoon design, the eye should be bulging out. Like this:

/uploads/default/original/4X/4/b/c/4bc96fa9b08ac7daa763e65f103751edfa3b645e.jpegstc=1

I also think you need to improve the eyebrow structure. It just looks too sharp. I know that this is a cartoon character but the sharp eyebrow doesn’t look organic. Again, staying true® to the cartoon design, the eyebrow should be smooth.