Rigging a mechanical model with joints at odd angles

I’m working on a clockwork wyvern for a portfolio piece, and in my excitement to get to the fun stuff like texturing and maps, I jumped the gun, and now that I’ve started to test rigging, I’ve run into a bit of an issue:

Both the wings and legs sit at a slight angle, but with the exception of a few parts like the shoulders and wing joints, the joints should all rotate on one axis only. I’m having a problem getting this to look right. For instance, here’s what the elbow joint looks like at a resting/default pose:

And here’s what it looks like rotated down on the X axis about 60 degrees:

You can see that it’s started to come out of its place slightly, this feels really sloppy and I want to fix it so the joints bend as if it was an actual mechanical hinge joint. How would I accomplish this? I’m still learning the technical side of Blender, but any pointers in the right direction would be hugely appreciated.

I’m thinking since this is mechanical, you don’t need to rig it with an armature. Armatures are great for deformation, but for purely mechanical objects, you can just use object constraints and parenting. The great there is with object constraints you can very specially set which axes are affected, in which space, so if you want your joint to only move on one local axis, object constraint has you covered :slight_smile:

I did consider using parenting instead of a rig. The only parts that would need an actual rig and weight painting are the canvas wing membranes, and even then I’m not 100% on keeping them because I’m worried about texture deformation, but that’s a whole other issue.

I would also like to be able to save poses, which I know I can do with a rig system but I’m not sure if it’s possible with regular old parenting. The final product won’t be animated, but I would like to take several renders of it in different poses.