Rigging Issues

Hey all!

I’m just getting started with blender and I think I’m making good headway, but I’ve run into an issue with rigging.

With my character fully rigged, I go into pose mode to move him about etc, but when I move the arm, as en example, part of the torso comes with it. Or when I move the femur bone the back of my mesh is skewed.

I know I’m a beginner so it could just be my terrible rigging job, but do you think I’m doing something wrong?

Screenshots:

arm move: https://picasaweb.google.com/116446870474665554318/BlenderScreenshots#5758736070594193746

leg move:
https://picasaweb.google.com/116446870474665554318/BlenderScreenshots#5758736127781200802

neck move:
https://picasaweb.google.com/116446870474665554318/BlenderScreenshots#5758736175814184018

I’ve attached the .blend file
gamehuman.blend (547 KB)gamehuman.blend (547 KB)

Thank you for any suggestions and advice you can give me! :slight_smile:

Sorry to be a bother with the double posts and such, but I’m still having issues with my rigging :frowning:

you need to go into weight paint mode and fix the weights for the various bones. the reason the hind part of the mesh is moving with the leg bones is that you have some of those verts weighted to the leg bones, and the same is true of the chest area/upper arm bones, etc. so you just have to fix some of those issues in weight paint mode until you get it looking right. fyi, you can move bones around in weight paint mode, so that you can see the changes your paint strokes are making.

also, before you do that, go into edit mode, select all the verts, and hit W>Remove Doubles. there are 406 duplicate verts at the moment :wink:

Thanks for answering Joel! I thought my poor human would be forever skewed :no: